Friday, March 09, 2007

Hitting the bottle: a rough night

Tonight was my fourth attempt to feed SiliBaby by bottle. Only the 2nd time has gone any semblance of well. Tonight, though, was by far the most aggravating time I've had with her.

She wanted nothing to do with the bottle, and just screamed and screamed and screamed. As I noted the other day, her crying is really getting very loud and piteous: it's no longer just generic baby crying, but it really sounds like: "Oh, woe is me--I'm being persecuted so horribly." This is even more frustrating when you consider that the only "persecution" going on is feeding her Mommy's milk (if from a silicone nipple). My biggest fear, of course, is that these traumatic experiences will come to deform her feelings toward Daddy, if at the very deepest, most subconscious level.

Apart from this longer-term worry, it's really just the volume and shrillness of the screaming that get to me. I have, in general, a problem with loud noises to begin with. And the fact that she screams with her head on my shoulder (i.e., right next to my ear) doesn't help.

Anyway, there's no choice but for her and me to get this feeding thing down together. All I can do for now is head out to Walgreen's, buy a pair of earplugs, and try and take the edge off the noise.

0 Comments:

Post a Comment

<< Home